It is currently Tue Apr 16, 2024 11:57 am

Post subject: Another GY6 with no spark....questions....
PostPosted: Tue Dec 01, 2009 12:33 am 

Hello guys, new guy here trying to figure out whats going on with my little buggy. First off, I am a small engine mechanic...it's what I do for a living, however, this little engine has me stumped. I bought this buggy from a friend who said it didn't run, so I got it on the cheap. I thought having no spark would be a simple and relatively cheap fix. Well, after month of online research and trying to understand how the ignition system works, I have swallowed my pride and now I am asking for help.

What I have...an off-brand Chinese buggy. It's a "Mountaineer RTV-150" with a GY6 150cc motor. The cart has VERY low time on it. Heck, the original engine oil is very clean still.

After all my effort of research, I have troubleshot this thing to my whits end. I have replaced the coil and the CDI unit to no avail. I have ruled out any kill switches and confirmed it by removing the kill wire from the CDI box harness. I have a brand new CDI unit and a known good used ignition coil from another project I fixed earlier in the year.

I am thinking of replacing the entire ignition system....harness and all. The motor has an 8 pole stator and from what I understand, most of the GY6's came with a 6 pole stator.

Here is my question.... if I get a 6 pole stator and matching flywheel found on e-bay ad #380175068973, will my rectifier still function properly? Or does the rectifier have to have the 8 pole stator?

One more question....where can I get a complete ignition wire harness for this engine? The manual that came with the buggy does not have the correct wires or wire colors going to the CDI unit....it looks like it's the incorrect diagram.